Check List of The Seven Supreme Court Justices Sitting On John Mahama’s Election Petition Which Sparks Another Conversation

Check List of The Seven Justices Sitting On John Mahama's Election Petition; Which Sparks Another Conversation
Judges in wigs

BROADCASTGHANA has established that many Ghanaians have started talking unceasingly following the number of Justices Chosen to sit on the 2020 election petition.

Our portal gathered many have argued that the number is considerably less as compared to the number of the last petition which President Akufo Addo sent to the Supreme Court.

Though, we cannot point out why the Supreme Court has decided on this number.

According to what is being gathered today, the Chief Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah will lead a panel of seven justices hearing the 2020 presidential election petition filed by former president John Dramani Mahama.

The petition is challenging the successful reelection of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo. The president and Electoral Commission are the respondents in the case.

The Chief Justice announced the other members of the panel at the beginning of the hearing today. The six other justices are as follows:

Her Ladyship Justice Mariama Owusu
Her Ladyship Justice Gertrude Torkornoo
His Lordship Justice Yaw Appau
His Lordship Justice Samuel K. Marful-Sau
His Lordship Justice Nene Abayaateye Ofoe Amegatcher
His Lordship Justice Prof. Nii Ashie Kotey

Today, during the case management or pre-trial stage, preliminary issues were heard by the court. Key decisions on day one included the clearance for live broadcast and for the petitioner to make some amendments.

READ  SHOCKER: A Survivor From The Collapsed Church Building Reveals They Saw Strange Things While Trapped Under The Structure -[CHECK OUT]

The court has maximum 42 working days to give a ruling on the petition. The petitioner was in court today for hearing. Only one of the respondents was present in the person of the Electoral Commission chair. President Akufo-Addo was absent.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.